Databases

Arts, Culture and Social Sciences
Back to all databases

Search for Arts, Culture and Social Sciences related databases

Or use one or more filters to narrow down the selection of databases below

Filter by: Filter by:

.

Databases, catalogues and search engines

A&HCI – Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via the Web of Science)

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index offers bibliographical access to a curated collection of over 1,800 journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines and individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Open database | More info & support

Altmetric

Altmetric is a platform that tracks and analyses the online activity around scholarly research outputs provided with certain unique identifiers. It gathers data on outreach activities through (social) media, user statistics from reference managers, and mentions in patents and policy documents. This new type of metrics – referred to as ‘altmetrics’ – aims to capture the societal impact of research output, as opposed to traditional metrics such as citation counts.

Open database | More info & support

APA PsycBOOKS (EBSCO)

APA PsycBOOKS from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes over 38,000 chapters in PDF from over 4,415 books, published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

Open database | More info & support

APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)

APA PsycINFO contains over 4 million citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, book chapters and dissertations selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in 30 languages dedicated to behavioral science and mental health.

Open database | More info & support

Beeld en Geluid op School

Beeld en Geluid op School is a database of the Dutch Institute of Sound and Vision. It licenses free online access to Beeld en Geluid op School streaming audio and video content. The resources are selected from archives of the Dutch Institute of Sound and Vision.

Open database | More info & support

BNTL – Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap

BNTL verwijst naar publicaties over Nederlandse taal (inclusief haar regionale vormen) en Nederlandse letterkunde.

Open database | More info & support

Cambridge Books Online

Cambridge Books Online offers access to e-books from Cambridge University Press covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.

Open database | More info & support

Conference Proceedings Citation Index (via the Web of Science)

The Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-present) – Science (CPCI-S) and Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) – offer bibliographical access to a curated collection of over 205,900 conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities.

Open database | More info & support

Delpher

Miljoenen gedigitaliseerde teksten uit Nederlandse kranten, boeken en tijdschriften, uit de collecties van diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, bibliotheken en erfgoedinstellingen. Ze worden via één zoekingang aangeboden en zijn op woordbasis doorzoekbaar.

Open database | More info & support

Dimensions

Dimensions is a free accessible citation database, providing citation numbers and alternative metrics (altmetrics) on article level. As UM has no institutional subscription only the free application and options are available for use.

Open database | More info & support

DOAJ – Directory of Open Access Journals

A directory containing information (and direct links to the full text) about more than 4,000 open access journals.

Open database | More info & support

E-books Academic Subscription Collection (EBSCO)

The EBSCO Academic Subscription Collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.

Open database | More info & support

Early Dutch Books Online

This e-book database gives full-text access to more than 2 million pages in 10,000 books from the Dutch-speaking region from the period 1781-1800.

Open database | More info & support

Europa World of Learning, The

Europa World of Learning is a directory to all institutions in Higher Education in the world (not restricted to Europe): names of institutions, addresses and managing personnel can be found.

Open database | More info & support

Europeana newspapers

Europeana is an internet portal that acts as an interface to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. Europeana newspapers – as part of it – aggregates 18 million historic newspaper pages for Europeana and The European Library.

Open database | More info & support

Europeana Photography

Europeana Photography is Europeana’s digital library of photographs from the collections of some 50 European institutions.

Open database | More info & support

GLIN – Grey Literature in the Netherlands

GLIN contains bibliographical data of government publications and publications of universities and other scientific institutions and of theses, published in The Netherlands.

Open database | More info & support

Google Scholar / Google Wetenschap

Google Scholar is a search engine. It provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Open database | More info & support

Huygens ING’s Resources

The Huygens Institute for Netherlands History (ING) focuses on Digital Humanities, History, History of Science, and Textual Scholarship. Its database covers many categories and items. For more information on these sources, data and tools it is recommended to use the main entry: Resources.

Open database | More info & support

InCites

InCites is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context.

Open database | More info & support

Jesuit Online Bibliography

The Jesuit Online Bibliography is a free, collaborative, multilingual, and fully searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century.

Open database | More info & support

JSTOR

Jstor is an archive of top academic journals and e-books. Available collections: Mathematics and Statistics, Life Sciences and Arts and Sciences. It only offers back issues.

Open database | More info & support

MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) | New

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore

Open database | More info & support

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) | New

The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.

Open database | More info & support

NARCIS – National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System

Narcis is the national Dutch portal for anyone looking for information about researchers and their work.

Open database | More info & support

Nexis Uni (Lexis Nexis)

Nexis Uni provides access to 15,000 news sources, legal sources and business sources.

Open database | More info & support

OAPEN – Open Access Publishing in European Networks

OAPEN is an initiative in Open Access publishing for peer reviewed academic books in the humanities and social sciences.

Open database | More info & support

Oxford Reference Online (Premium Collection)

The Premium collection brings together more than 300 language and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. These books can be searched simultaneously or by individual book title.

Open database | More info & support

Patents

Patent databases

A lot of patent data is freely available on the internet. A selection of commonly used patent databases are listed in this section.

Open database | More info & support

Philpapers – Online research in Philosophy

PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers.

Open database | More info & support

PiCarta (Dutch Central Catalogue NCC-OLC)

PiCarta is the central catalogue of Dutch libraries containing bibliographic data of publications available at the Royal Library, university libraries, public libraries and libraries of universities of applied sciences. Since the switch to LibSearch, the content in PiCarta is no longer up-to-date.

Open database | More info & support

Project Muse

Full-text periodicals; humanities and social sciences

Open database | More info & support

SAGE Research Methods Foundations

SAGE Research Methods Foundations provides introductory overviews to all the major methods topics to help get you on your way.

Open database | More info & support

SCI – Science Citation Index Expanded (via the Web of Science)

The Science Citation Index Expanded (1988-present) offers bibliographical access to a curated collection of over 9,200 journals across 178 scientific disciplines.

Open database | More info & support

SocINDEX (EBSCO)

SocINDEX is a sociology research database.

Open database | More info & support

SpringerLink – Nederlandstalige e-books en e-journals

Dit is een directe link naar de Nederlandstalige e-books en e-journals van de uitgever Bohn Stafleu van Loghum (BSL) op de website van Springer.

Open database | More info & support

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a freely-accessible online encyclopedia covering all areas of philosophy.

Open database | More info & support

StatLine (CBS)

Statline is the electronic database of the CBS (Dutch Central Statistics Office).

Open database | More info & support

UM Master Theses

UM Master Theses gives an overview of (a selection of) master theses, in electronic version, written by Maastricht University students.

Open database | More info & support

Web of Science (WoS)

The Web of Science (WoS) offers bibliographical access to a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings are also available.

Open database | More info & support

World Higher Education Database

The IAU WHED Portal is the International Association of Universities’ unique online reference tool that provides comprehensive and detailed information on Higher Education Systems and Credentials (in 186 countries) and Institutions (more than 18,500) around the world.

Open database | More info & support

WorldCat

WorldCat is a huge master catalogue containing citations for library materials held by more than 10,000 libraries, including the UM Catalogue.

Open database | More info & support

w

Contact & Support

For questions or information, use the web form right to contact a subject specialist.

Contact a databases specialist
  • jpg, gif, xls, doc, pdf, png, xlsx, docx
  • Before submitting your question, please check whether your e-mail address is correct.

Pin It on Pinterest