Compustat North America (via Wharton)

Databases

 

Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies.

Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items. For most companies, annual history is available back to 1950 and quarterly history back to 1962 with monthly market history back to 1962.

Compustat North America files also contain information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings.

Non-U.S. and Non-Canadian publicly held companies are not included in this database but are accessible via the Compustat Global database.

Per item, you can follow a fixed procedure to select what type of data, for which period and in what format the data should be provided. Manuals and help are available in the database via ‘Support’ and ‘E-Learning’.

The CRSP and Compustat database have merged into a new dataset (CCM) This merger provides CRSP and Compustat subscribers with a convenient way to link CRSP market and corporate action data with Compustat fundamental data. To access CCM database. First, select CRSP from the available datasets at the top of the screen. CRSP & Compustat Merged Database is available via the left frame. Please keep in mind that not all datasets in CRSP are accessible for UM students & employees

Compustat North America is only available via Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS). It is not accessible as a separate database. First select Compustat- Capital IQ.

Compustat North America can be found in the overview of Compustat datasets. Please keep in mind that not all datasets in Compustat-Capital IQ are accessible for UM students & employees.

Look for the appropriate Data Vendor Manual under Support, once you have logged in to WRDS.
  • Max. file size: 64 MB.
    jpg, gif, xls, doc, pdf, png, xlsx, docx
  • Before submitting your question, please check whether your e-mail address is correct.
Access information
The WRDS interface is only accessible via a WRDS account. An account can be requested via the WRDS start page.

Only Maastricht University email accounts are accepted with the exception of alumni accounts: alumni students are not allowed!

Go to database 

Pin It on Pinterest