The DawsonEra reading portal provides access to the full text in PDF-format of more than 750 e-books. This selection is continually growing and it covers all disciplines of the UM.
The DawsonEra reading portal provides access to the full text in PDF-format of more than 750 e-books. This selection is continually growing and it covers all disciplines of the UM. The e-books have been published by various academic publishers from around the world.
Our license includes two different access models which vary per title.
- The credit model allows 325-400 views per title, per year. The exact number differs per publisher. A view counts when you open or read an e-book online: a credit opens and remains valid for 24 hours.
- The concurrent user model is based on a number of concurrent users, which varies per title. If the title isn’t available (maximum amount of users is reached) users can add themselves to a waiting queue. As soon as the title is available an e-mail notification will be sent to the first user in the queue.
The ‘e-Book Catalogue’ enables browsing the e-books alphabetically. A Quick search box is top right on the screen. Searches will be executed in the title, publisher, description, in the table of contents and full text. An Advanced search option is available: since we have only a limited number of e-books not all the presented subjects and publishers in the drop down lists of those options will retrieve results.
To identify content that Maastricht library has purchased, and is available to print or download, the books will always be shown in a green box with a green open padlock. This indicates that you have full access to the content.
Access to the e-books is arranged via EZ-proxy. The first time you access a Dawson title, it is required to log in with your UM account and accept the Terms and Conditions. The next time around, you will be recognised as a user and these steps are no longer necessary.
The option “My Bookshelf” still requires a personal account, however for printing and downloading this account is no longer necessary.
DOWNLOADING: Downloading is possible; however, access to the download is limited to a maximum of 2 days. Once you have downloaded the book, information on the exact expiry date and time of your availability will be displayed. Printing or copying from downloaded books is not possible. Export of bibliographic data from the reading portal to Endnote is possible.