Free access to resources during COVID-19

As the situation with Covid-19 continues to develop rapidly, many publishers are making their resources freely and temporarily available, i.e. for the coming weeks, months or for the remainder of the academic year.

 

The following list will be updated regularly as we find new resources.

In response to the closing of university libraries, the American Economic Association is temporarily making all of its journals open access  at least until 30 June.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, Annual reviews has made all journals available to all (without access control ) through Thursday April 30, 2020.

APA Publishing is helping to support our customers during this challenging time by making a variety of resources freely available. For students and faculty at colleges and universities that have shut down their campuses and moved classes online, we are allowing instructors to use PsycLearn : Research Methods content with their students at no cost for the remainder of this semester. The eight available modules of PsycLearn : Introduction to Social Psychology are also available. Interested educators should contact their APA Partnership Manager or email.

With the cooperation of the publisher, it has been made possible to access ArsAequi outside campus. Please, log on with your UM account.

Berghahn, publisher of scholarly books and academic journals in the humanities and social sciences, offers not only Open Access e-books and e-journals, but in addition all Berghahn Journals – new issues and all back issues – will be made freely available through June 30.

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and their publishing partners have made articles related to coronavirus available via open access through 2020.

Temporarily the UM has access to two collections of Bloomsbury:

Bohn Stafleu van Loghum made the eBook of the Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology: A life course approach / Steegers free available for Maastricht University until end of July 2020.

The sixth edition of the A-Team’s Entity Data Management Handbook , explores how to tackle the challenges of sourcing and managing entity data. This handbook is free for you to download.

Cambridge University Press is offering free, online access to 700 higher education textbooks ,
Cambridge Companions , Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Elements coronavirus research during the COVID-19 outbreak until end of May 2020.

Until the end of April 2020 a trial has been set up for Elsevier ClinicalKey Student Nursing .
Special titles within this trail Midwifery Preparation for Practice , 4th ed and Physiology in Childbearing , 4th ed.
Make sure to make your personal account for access.

Duke University Press is sharing their reading lists , which offer free content (included is Navigating the Threat of Pandemic ). Archival content (1999 to 2004) for 20 journals is hosted on Project MUSE and all available content for East Asian Science, Technology and Society is free accessible.

Free access to all Elsevier resources for the research and health community on novel coronavirus (COVID-19). Available in the Elsevier’s Novel Coronavirus Information Center .

The 256 textbooks currently on Elsevier ScienceDirect will be free accessible through IP remote access until the end of May 2020.
Explore the title list and double click the Shortcut URL of the title you want to access.

In order to provide online access to students and researchers working from home due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Guilford Press has opened access and made all their journal content free. You can access all of their content from any location. Free access will be available until at least 31 July.

Harvard University Press offers free access to all content – Loeb Classical Library until June 30th 2020.

IGI Global is an innovative international disseminator of knowledge, currently specialising in information science, technology, and management books, journals, teaching cases, and conference proceedings. Until the end of May 5,300 e-books and over 300 journals are freely available.

JoVE provides all of their Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th. Check the explanation.

JSTOR has expanded the UM’s institution’s access to JSTOR for all eligible programs .
The content includes additional journals and primary source collections beyond the ones the UM already subscribe to, and a rapidly growing collection of ebooks . This access is active through June 30, 2020.

Through 2020 Karger is sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak with the Topic Article Package: Coronavirus (COVID-19) .

Publisher Larcier – Strada Lex offers access to all journals from Larcier, Bruylant and Intersentia which are available via Stradalex. Access is granted until 15 May 2020.

To support the work of the library and publishing community as we navigate through the COVID-19 crisis, Library Journal (LJ) is offering temporary free access to the digitised edition of LJ , as well as all the content on their website.

Mc Graw-Hill has created a distance-learning toolkit by using AccessMedicine to help empower healthcare professions faculty for online teaching and learning during this critical time.

A selection of articles on pandemics, epidemiology, and other relevant topics from the MIT collection is freely available and is being maintained and regularly updated.

More than 15,000 books and over 230 journal titles on the Project MUSE platform will display a distinctive “Free” icon. Check MUSE search results , by default.

The Nomos eLibrary provides access to academic publications by publishers Nomos, Academia, C. H. Beck, Ergon, Facultas, Kommunal- und Schul-Verlag, Psychosozial, Reimer, Velbrück and Wallstein. Subject areas include Law, Politics, Economics, Media & Communication Studies, History, Sociology, Education Research, Cultural Science, EU Studies, Health Science, Philosophy and Religion.
All content of the Nomos eLibrary and Tectum eLibrary  is available until April 14th.

All journals of the Royal Society will be available because of the Corona crisis.

Research related to coronavirus is freely available on SAGE Journals, as well as a curated collection of both medical and social and behavioral science related to the virus and more broadly on managing pandemics. Sage is also offering free available Resources to help transition to teaching online.

The 256 textbooks currently on Elsevier ScienceDirect will be free accessible through IP remote access until the end of May 2020.
Explore the title list and double click the Shortcut URL of the title you want to access.

The SIAM Epidemiology Collection , focused on disease modeling, pandemics, and vaccines, is freely available to all for one year.

Springer E-books
Springer Nature took the initiative to provide free access to textbooks to institutions that have been affected by the coronavirus lockdown. They are also available for Maastricht University until 30 June 2020.

Springer Nature is committed to supporting the global response to emerging outbreaks by enabling fast and direct access to the latest available research, evidence, and data .

Besides that, Springer Nature built a central resource hub which contains links to relevant research from their journals and books, as well as additional commentary on COVID19. Overall more than 12,000 pieces of journal and book content are free to access, and will continue to be so for as long as needed. Nature  and Scientific American have also released podcasts from global experts on the pandemic and its development, and Nature Briefing continues to provide the latest research updates.

Taylor & Francis remains committed to ensuring all relevant research is available to those who are at the forefront of research into mitigating its impact.

In recognition of the impact of Covid-19 on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020.

University of Michigan Press made all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection  free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term.

Free online access to a special COVID-19 collection has been made available by Wiley, as well as access to a  real-time feed , two Special Collections on COVID 19  and historical perspectives on epidemics Europe, 1817 UK, 1854 Hastings, 1873  and Sydney, 1895 .

Wolters Kluwer made the Wolters Kluwer Coronavirus Resources & Tools page  with updates and resources free available for clinicians, nurses and medical researchers, in response to new developments, evidence and guidance.

Over 2.000 law books are available on the Digital Book Platform
It is also possible to login with the general username and password.
Username: Maastricht
Password: kluwer6288

Wolters Kluwer/Ovid has granted online access to GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network). because of the Corona crisis. This access is valid until 17-05-2020.

World Scientific Publishing made an upgrade for Maastricht University to journal access that includes all World Scientific journal content published from 2001. This takes effect from now, until June 30, 2020.

In addition, ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCOHost customers will receive automatic upgrades to unlimited concurrent access (from single or simultaneous user) on your World Scientific e-books also  through to mid-June.

w

Contact & Support

For questions or information, use the web form right to contact a subject specialist.
Contact a databases specialist
  • jpg, gif, xls, doc, pdf, png, xlsx, docx
  • Before submitting your question, please check whether your e-mail address is correct.

Pin It on Pinterest