Legacy Tobacco Documents LibraryDatabases
The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library contains more than 14 million documents (80+ million pages) created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities.
The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL) was created in 2002 by the UCSF Library and Center for Knowledge Management. LTDL was built to house and maintain tobacco industry internal corporate documents produced during litigation between 46 U.S. States and the seven major tobacco industry organizations. These internal documents give a view into the workings of one of the largest and most influential industries in the United States.
The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library offers integrated searching of tobacco industry documents from a variety of companies.
These collections are comprised of tobacco industry documents from the late nineteenth century up through the present with the bulk of the collections dated 1950 through 2009:
MSA Collections (Major Tobacco Companies), British American Tobacco, Bliley, CA Tobacco Control, Canadian Trials, Gallaher, Liggett & Myers, Mangini (“Joe Camel”), Multimedia, Pollay Advertising Collection, Research Collections, Tobacco DATTA, UCSF Brown & Williamson, US Department of Justice and US Smokeless Tobacco.
The data in the LTDL is both full-text searchable and searchable through the index records created by the tobacco companies describing each document and its use in litigation.