Library of Congress Online Catalogue (LOC)

Databases

 

The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials in the Library’s collections.

The Library of Congress is the nation’s oldest federal cultural institution and it serves as the research arm of Congress.

The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials in the Library’s collections. The records have been catalogued mainly from 1980 onwards, but the catalogue includes 3.2 million records form an earlier database as well (books and serials catalogued between 1898 and 1980).
Subject areas of the collection: American history, arts & culture, world history & culture – government, politics and law – maps & geography – news & journalism – religion & philosophy – science, technology &, business – sports & leisure.
Geographical the library collection has a broad scope: United States, Africa, the Middle East, Asian, Europe and Hispanic.
Separate catalogs such as the ‘Prints and Photographs’, ‘Sound Online Inventory’ and ‘E-Resources’ are available on the homepage of this catalogue.

Two search forms are available:
– BASIC SEARCH offers multiple search methods for direct searches (on keyword: matches all words), on title, author, subject keyword, etcetera). Brief help per search type is displayed. An option to ‘set search limits’ before executing a search is available as well, for instance to limit your search results to a specific language or a specific publication date or date range.
– GUIDED SEARCH is especially helpful when you are looking for specific items but do not know the initial words of a title or a person’s complete name; or when you wish to create a precise search strategy, combining or excluding search words or phrases. It is not possible to store search results sets for further manipulation.

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares