PsycINFO (EBSCO)

Databases

 

PsycINFO contains over 4 million citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, book chapters and dissertations selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in 30 languages dedicated to behavioral science and mental health.

PsycINFO® is the American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes the international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.

Sign in to access your personalized account. With this account, you can save preferences, organize your research with folders, share your folders with others, view others’ folders, save and retrieve your search history, create email alerts and/or RSS feeds and gain access to your saved research remotely.

Exporting references from Ebsco to Endnote (PDF manual)

EBSCOhost tutorials & product specific tutorials on topics like:

Advanced Search (3 min. video) Conducting an advanced search, using the guided style fields as well as applying limiters and expanders Caution: using the ‘Full Text’ limiter will exclude full-text articles available via .

Search History (3 min. video) Using EBSCOhost search history (editing a previously executed search, saving a search).

My EBSCOhost (5 min. video) Using My EBSCOhost folders (personalised folders which allow users to extend the usage of search results beyond the current session and store saved searches, journal alerts and persistent links to searches).

Search Alert (2 min. video) Creating a search alert to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new search results become available.

Journal Alert (2 min. video) Creating a journal alert which allows you to set up automatic e-mail notification when a new issue of a specific journal becomes available.

How do I search in PsycINFO for articles that contain appended psychological tests

To locate articles that contain appended tests, add TM Appended to your search terms.

To limit to a particular published test (as mentioned in the “Tests and Measures” field), perform your search in the following way: TM Appended and TM “published test name”

For example, enter: TM Appended and TM Apperceptive Personality Test

This retrieves results for Apperceptive Personality Test(s) and limits to those that are appended.

In PsycINFO, how do the All Journals/Peer Reviewed Journal/Peer Reviewed Status Unknown publication limiters differ?

Searches in PsycINFO can target specific journal sources by using the following publication limiters:

    • All Journals – All journals in PsycINFO.
    • Peer Reviewed Journal – All Peer Reviewed Journals.
    • Peer Reviewed Status Unknown – Journals whose peer reviewed status is not known.
DOI Linking from PsycINFO or PsycEXTRA to PsycTESTS

When searching PsycINFO and PsycEXTRA in EBSCOhost, linking is available via DOIs in the Tests & Measures field of records.

For example:

  1. Search TM Beck Depression Inventory in either PsycINFO or PsycEXTRA.
    Note: TM is the Searchable field code for Tests & Measures.
  2. Click on any record in Result List, and scroll down to the Tests & Measures field of the detailed record.
    Active DOI links for tests available in PsycTESTS appear.
    Active DOI LinksNote: the PsycTESTS database must be added to the profile in order to see active DOI links.
  3. Click on a DOI link to open the related test in PsycTESTS in the same browser window/tab.
    The search/session within PsycINFO or PsycEXTRA database is maintained.
  4. The PsycTESTS record is displayed with ‘PsycTESTS’ in the Database field, but you are still in the initiating database: PsycINFO or PsycEXTRA.
    PsycTESTS Database
  5. Click New Search to return to the search screen in the initiating database: PsycINFO or PsycEXTRA.

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: