United Nations Treaty Collection

Databases

 

United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC) contains status and full text of all multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations – even those that have not been published yet. The UNTC also has bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the UN.

Most important databases are:

  • United Nations Treaty Series, containing the texts of bilateral and multilateral treaties and subsequent actions in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French, as appropriate.
  • Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General providing information on the status of major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations. It consolidates all information on treaty actions (i.e., signatures, ratifications, accessions, denunciations, miscellaneous notifications, reservations, declarations and objections) undertaken relating to the multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General.
  • League of Nations Treaty Series containing the texts of treaties and records of subsequent treaty actions of the League of Nations (1920-1944).
  • Deposited Multilateral Treaties containing the texts of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General that have not yet been published in the United Nations Treaty Series.

The UNTS Search feature has 2 options: Basic Search and Advanced Search. The Advanced Search provides for a more detailed search form, allowing you to be more specific about the parameters for the search (e.g.title, date of signature/adoption, subject term, registration number, etc.).

Treaty Reference Guide
This Reference Guide seeks to provide a basic – but not an exhaustive – overview of the key terms employed in the United Nations Treaty Collection, such as treaties, agreements, conventions, charters, protocols, declarations, memoranda of understanding, modus vivendi and exchange of notes. 

Glossary of terms relating to Treaty actions 

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares