Web of Science (WoS)Databases
The Web of Science (WoS) offers bibliographical access to a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings are also available.
The Web of Science (by Clarivate Analytics, formerly Thomson Reuters and also formerly known as ISI Web of Knowledge) is a research platform that gives access to a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings are also available. With citation indexes – besides searching for articles on Topics or Author(s) – you can also find articles that cite a person’s work, i.e. ‘Cited reference searching’.
Full-text access to articles is restricted to Open Access articles and to NON-OA articles in journals to which University Maastricht subscribes. A list of the journals indexed is available in the Master Journal List . An overview of the journal selection process is available here .
Use the Web of Science to:
- Find scholarly articles, conference proceedings and reviews
- Find citations and conduct a further search based on the citations you found
- Check how many times and by who publications have been cited
- Author citation reports.
When you have found an article, you may find more literature by:
- ‘Times cited’: gives a list of recent publications referring to this article
- ‘Cited References’: gives a list of publications referred to in the article (click on the title first)
- ‘View related records’: gives an overview of publications containing the same literature references (click on the title first)
- Clicking on the name of the author, in order to get more publications by this particular author.
University Maastricht has access to these databases in Web of Science:
Please note: University Maastricht does not subscribe to the Book Citation Index, a new part of Web of Science.
Each database can be searched individually or in combination with the others. Make your selections using the More Settings option at the foot of the Web of Science Core Collection search screen.
Click here for online training modules
InCites is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context.
InCites can be accessed using a Maastricht University e-mail address:
- When registering for a Clarivate Analytics product for the first time, please use a Maastricht University e-mail address and a Maastricht University IP-authenticated computer.
- If you are already registered for a Clarivate Analytics product – like Web of Science – you can use that account. But first, your Web of Science (WoS) and/or Journal Citation Reports (JCR) account needs to be synchronized with InCites.
Please follow these steps to do so:
Once registered in InCites you will be able to access InCites via the product link tab in the Web of Science or the Journal Citation Reports.
When using InCites for evaluation purposes be cautious as the quantitative indicators are meant to support qualitative, expert assessment and should not be used in isolation (see: Using InCites responsibly: A Guide to Interpretation and Good Practice and The Leiden Manifesto for research metrics ).
The InCItes handbook, discussing the available indicators, and how they are calculated, is downloadable in PDF format.