Open Access guide

 

1.Open Access #

Open Access is part of Open Science. The aim of Open Science is transparency during the complete research process, for instance by sharing and re-using research data.

Open Access is a broad international academic movement that seeks free and open online access to academic information. Open Access (OA) means unrestricted online access to your writings.

Open Access and the UM reader

Open Access offers you free, immediate, online availability of scientific information like research articles. For staff and students from Maastricht University (UM) there are no costs involved. Payment for reading full text is arranged through licensing arrangements the UM Library made with publishers.

Open Access and the UM author

UM scientists who want to publish Open Access because of the greater reach for their article, and because their publications will be better found and cited, often had to pay for Open Access publishing. A fee paid to the publisher to make an article free at point of access has been called APC (article processing charge).

Thanks to negotiations in recent years, university libraries have included Open Access in many licensing agreements with publishers. As a result, scientists employed by Dutch universities can publish Open Access in many journals without paying APCs.

Open Access for UM in general

Open Access creates a greater public visibility of all research at UM. Greater accessibility of research could attract new research students, or help start new collaborations.

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 30 November 2017

1.1.Open Access developments in the Netherlands #

Current information on the advantages of Open Access (OA) to publicly financed research and all Dutch OA agreements with individual publishers can be found on the Dutch National website http://www.openaccess.nl/en/ .

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

1.2.Pros and cons of Open Access #

The greatest benefit of Open Access is that it enables the results of scholarly research to be disseminated more rapidly and widely.

It is only in the longer term that Open Access publication brings you concrete benefits. This can affect the priority that you attach to switching to this publication model.
Read all about advantages and disadvantages you may experience 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

1.3.Troubled by misconceptions? #

Open Access is widely known but it is still held back by some misunderstandings. Read more about often-heard myths in the following article.

https://library.maastrichtuniversity.nl/five-myths-open-access-debunked/ 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

1.4.Look out for questionable OA publishers! #

Keep control over your scholarship

It is important to avoid predatory journals. These journals take away your control over your scholarship.

Do you have any doubts or questions?

Do you know the editors of the journals and/or some authors who have published in the journals you selected? When in doubt, we advise you to trace or contact them.

How can you be sure you can trust a particular journal? Follow the ‘Think Check Submit check list to verify you choose trusted journals for your research.

Warning signs

If you are thinking of submitting an article from a journal that meets a number of criteria on the list below, we recommend doing more research about the journal first. How do you spot predatory journals? Here are a few warning signs:

1. Take a close look at the publisher’s website:

  • The journal asks for a submission fee instead of a publication fee or tries to keep the copyright to authors’ work
  • The publisher promises you that papers will be published at a certain time, but this is not consistent with its outdated website
  • The editorial board is relatively small or ‘coming soon’
  • A single publisher releases an overwhelmingly large suite of new journals all at one time
  • The ‘look and feel’ of the website is poor
  • The journal title notes an affiliation that does not match its editorial board or location
  • There are fundamental errors in the titles and abstracts
  • The content of the journal varies from the title and stated scope

2. Pay attention to these questions:

  • Can you find the articles from the journals in reliable databases such as Web of Science (Thomson Reuters), Scopus (Elsevier), Directory of Open Access Journals or a database in your own discipline?
  • Is the publisher clear about peer review and the costs of Open Access?
  • Is there a registration number (ISSN) of the journal on the website?
  • Is the publisher or editor a member of COPE, Committee on Publication Ethics or do they follow its guidelines?
Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

1.5.OA publishing channels #

Why choose Open Access (OA) as a publishing method?

  • OA meets grant requirements
  • OA is associated with greater Web visibility
  • OA journals may be peer reviewed
  • OA boosts the speed of dissemination of your publications
  • OA increases your article citations as evidence is developing that greater visibility of research boosts your citation frequencies.
Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 30 November 2017

1.6.Types of Open Access: What to choose? #

There are two complementary business models of OA: the so-called ‘golden’ road and the ‘green’ road:

  • The ‘golden’ road is the same as paid OA.
    The ‘golden’ road consists of pure and hybrid OA journals. Both categories do not charge readers or their institutions for access
  • The ‘green’ road to OA is the strategy that uses archives or repositories like Research Publications .
    The ‘green’ road only requires you to retain rights to allow self-archiving, and to deposit your work in a digital repository. Repositories do not act as publishers. Rather, they provide access to some version of papers either before they are submitted for publication in a journal or at some point after they have been published, usually subject to an embargo period.

Other factors to consider – next to the speed of dissemination – when choosing a journal are:

  • Institutional self-archiving policy to store and disseminate articles and other publications through the institutional repository
  • The publisher’s copyright policy and business model
  • The author or article processing charges of the journal.

Citation databases such as the Web of Science, are used to determine the research impact. For this reason, many researchers prefer OA journals which are also indexed in citation databases.

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 30 November 2017

1.8.What are APCs? #

Hybrid journals are subscription-based journals which make individual articles immediately available to the public if you pay an additional open-access fee. The fee paid to the publisher to make an article free for the reader has been called an APC (article processing charge). With APCs you buy the right to publish an exact copy of the final version of an article.

Open Access journals that are part of national Big Deals with publishers are free of APCs. UM Library has Big Deals with many publishers. The UM situation has been specified for individual publishers.

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 30 November 2017

1.9.Funding #

NWO

Conditions for new calls for proposals have been changed by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO). All funded research for which the calls were issued after 1 December 2015, must be immediately made accessible to everybody via Open Access (OA) publications. The granting conditions for calls published before this date and current research projects remain the same. Read more .

European funding

  • The European Union has also made open access publishing mandatory for research funded by grants through the Horizon 2020 programme 
  • Are you a researcher, partner or coordinator in a FP7 project that has recently finished or is approaching its end-date? Your forthcoming peer-reviewed Open Access publications could be eligible for funding. Read more 
  • Read more on OA funding on the Dutch National OA website

 

Further reading

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 11 January 2018

2.Journals & publishers #

Check the OA journal browser  for the current overview of journal titles and the possibilities to publish Open Access.

The UM Journal Browser is derived from the national open access journal browser. You can see which journals offer open access publication and which arrangements (such as APC discounts) are in effect.

The Association of Universities in the Netherlands (VSNU) (UM included) have negotiated deals with several publishers, as a result of which no Article Processing Charges (APCs) are due (100% discount). Local agreements between Maastricht University Library and publishers are also included in the browser.

Information about all Dutch OA agreements with individual publishers can be found on openaccess.nl .

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Wednesday 25 July 2018

2.1.OA journals and publisher policies #

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Lists almost 10.000 OA journals
  • SHERPA/RoMEO : lists publisher copyright and self-archiving policies. To see what publishers allow in terms of self-archiving, check the publisher or journal name in this directory. Listings also indicate whether or not the publisher has a “paid access” option with direct links to the specific publisher policies on paid access
  • ROAD Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources : gives access to OA scholarly contents via a single access point. ROAD can be searched by country, subject, indexing/abstracting service etc.

OA articles can also often be found with a web search, using any general search engine or those specialised for the scholarly literature, such as OAIster and Google Scholar .

To find OA journals with a Journal Impact Factor in a specified discipline, use the Web of Science .

Many funding agencies like the European Commission and the Dutch NWO organisation support OA. For a list of research funders’ OA policies, consult SHERPA/Juliet .

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 30 November 2017

2.2.How to select the right journal? #

Sharing research results with the world is key to the progress of your discipline and career. But with so many publications, how can you be sure you can trust a particular journal? Follow the ‘Think Check Submit’ check list to verify you choose trusted journals for your research.

  

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

3.Individual publishers free of charge or giving a discount #

Overview of the agreements between Maastricht University and individual publishers with regards to the coverage of Article Processing Costs (APC).

 

acs-logo
American Chemical Society
Read More
biomed central
BioMed Central
Read More
Cambridge University Press
Cambridge University Press
Read More
De Gruyter logo
De Gruyter
Read More
Elsevier logo
Elsevier
Read More
Emerald
Emerald
Read More
karger logo
Karger
Read More
wolters-kluwer
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - LWW
Read More
Open Library of Humanities
Open Library of Humanities
Read More
oxford-university-press-logo
Oxford University Press
Read More
springer logo
Springer
Read More
Taylor & Francis
Taylor & Francis
Read More
Thieme logo
Thieme
Read More
Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Friday 10 November 2017

3.1.American Chemical Society #

acs-logo

Current agreement: 1 January 2017 – 31 December 2021

All new articles in 57 journals are published open, without costs to the author.

License and conditions

  • The agreement covers all 57 ACS open access subscription titles. ACS Central Science and ACS Omega are excluded.
  • All new articles will be published in full open access with no additional costs for the authors.
  • A corresponding author participating in the open access program must be associated with a Dutch university or organization.
  • The list of participating ACS-members contains all Dutch universities, including Academic Medical Centers, with the exception of Erasmus University and Tilburg University. Other partners include the FOM-institute AMOLF and Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW).

 

How does it work?

  • At submission, the corresponding author must select the institution and use the email address of that institution.
  • Authors whose articles are accepted by ACS will be automatically granted an ACS Author Choice Open Access Licence CC-BY-NC-ND.​
  • ​If an author does not use an email address of his/her institution or does not pick the proper institution from the drop-down list, the article will not be published open access.
  • ​Did something go wrong or do you want to make an already published article open access? Contact us ​for support. You will be able to request the article to be published in open access up until three months after acceptance.

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Friday 31 January 2020

3.2.BioMed Central #

biomed central

Maastricht University has a supporter membership at BioMed Central . This membership entitles researchers and students to a 15% discount on the author’s fee. Just select Maastricht University or MUMC+ in the drop-down menu. The publisher will apply the discount automatically. You will find more information about this discount on the BioMed Central website.

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

3.3.Cambridge University Press #

VSNU Agreement – License and conditions

  • Current agreement: 2017-2020
  • There is an agreement with Cambridge University Press to publish open access in more than 360 hybrid and full open access journals. Search the Open Access Journal Browser to find out if a journal is part of the agreement.
  • The agreement applies to all Dutch universities, including Maastricht University and MUMC, except Wageningen University (WUR).
  • Corresponding authors (teaching/research staff and students employed/enrolled) of participating institutes can publish their articles (research and review articles) open access without any costs.

How does it work?

  1. Corresponding authors must use their institutional email address during submission.
  2. After an article has been accepted, the corresponding author may indicate under which affiliation he/she submitted the article; CUP will know that the author is entitled to remission.
  3. Click the ‘Apply Discount’ button to confirm open access publication.

More information

  • More information about the agreement on the publisher’s website.
  • Always use your institutional email account when submitting/corresponding with the publisher
  • Always check the Open Access Journal Browser before you submit
  • UM Support – For all Open Access-related issues: Ron Aardening (Scholarly Communications & Publishing Officer) or Monique Dikboom (License Manager) via Ask Your Librarian

 

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Wednesday 17 June 2020

3.4.De Gruyter #

De Gruyter logo

  • Corresponding authors of Maastricht University / MUMC receive 20% discount on APC when they publish in De Gruyter Pure Open Access journals (APC covered by the author)
  • Please contact our OA specialists to find out about the current procedure.

 

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 15 June 2020

3.5.Elsevier #

Elsevier logo

 

Current agreement: 1 January 2020 – 31 December 2024

  • No publishing costs for Dutch authors in more than 2200 “hybrid” and full gold open access journals
  • The date of submission of the first manuscript determines the validity of the APC deal

License and conditions

  • All accepted articles by corresponding authors of Dutch universities in the selected journals by Elsevier are eligible for open access publication without extra cost.
  • N.B. New journals are included in the agreement several times. The APC discount conditions only apply to these journals if articles are submitted after the date of inclusion. Search for a journal in the Open Access Journal Browser to see after which date an article must have been submitted to be eligible for a full APC discount.

How does it work?

  1. Use your UM or MUMC mail account to identify yourself
  2. Indicate in the workflow module that your research was conducted at a Dutch University (Maastricht University).
  3. Indicate that you opt for a CC-BY license.
  4. See the workflow documentation for further explanation.
  5. Then choose the Gold Open Access option.

More info

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Friday 29 May 2020

3.6.Emerald #

Publisher: Emerald Publishing group
Current deal duration: 2019-2020

Current situation (July 2020):
There are currently 5 vouchers + 1 APC voucher for the Emerald Open Research Platform left for Dutch scholars (52 of 57 vouchers for the year 2020 have been used). Please check availability before you submit!

 

Terms and conditions

  • Emerald will issue 55 (2019) + 57 (2020) open access vouchers to authors at Dutch universities. All 2019 vouchers have been used.
  • These vouchers can be used for publication in open access of one article in all journals issued by Emerald. The vouchers are valid for hybrid as well as full open access journals.
  • Every year the Dutch universities receive 14 extra vouchers. These can be used for publication on the EOR Emerald Open Research Platform with open peer review. Every Dutch university can yearly make use of one voucher for EOR.
  • Unused vouchers can not be taken forward to the next year.

 

How does it work?

 

More information, support & contact

 

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Tuesday 14 July 2020

3.7.Karger #

karger logo

2019-2021

  • No publishing fee in all journals for authors of Maastricht University and 9 other Dutch universities.

 

License and conditions

  • Ten university libraries including Maastricht University have an agreement with Karger.
  • Researchers affiliated with Maastricht University (UM) and Maastricht University Medical Centre (MUMC+) may publish at no additional cost (no APC) in all Karger journals as the corresponding author.

 

How does it work?

  • Always use your affiliation email address
  • Verification must be done by the Validation Officer of the library within three days after Karger sends the mail with the request of the corresponding author.
  • Authors automatically use a CC-NC-ND 4.0 license.

 

More information

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 24 June 2019

3.8.Lippincott Williams & Wilkins #

wolters-kluwer

Information for Maastricht University and MUMC+ researchers about Open Access publishing free of charge in Lippincott Williams & Wilkins LWW.

 

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW), established 1998, is an imprint of the publishing conglomerate Wolters Kluwer. Under the LWW brand, Wolters Kluwer publishes scientific, technical, and medical content such as textbooks, reference works, and over 275 scientific journals (most of which are medical or other public health journals). Publications are aimed at physicians, nurses, clinicians, and students. Corresponding authors of articles from Dutch Universities will be able to publish their article free of charge, without Article Processing Charges, in Open Access in more than 200 hybrid journals.

 

License and conditions

 

How does it work?

  • LWW will recognize the corresponding author as a researcher of a Dutch university, based on e-mail affiliation; authors should, therefore, use their institutional email address.
  • Once the article is accepted for publication, the author is requested by LWW to request an APC waiver code via the Open Access support team of the library. This code can be used in the LWW payment system, which allows you to publish open access free of charge.

 

More information

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 2 May 2019

3.9.Open Library of Humanities #

Open Library of Humanities

Any researcher should just go to the specific OLH journal or OLH-sponsored journal  of their choice and submit as usual. There will be no fees.

Please contact our OA specialists to find out more about the current procedure.

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Thursday 12 October 2017

3.10.Oxford University Press (OUP) #

oxford-university-press-logoOxford University Press (OUP) is a major publisher of academic journals, both in the sciences and the humanities. OUP publishes also hundreds of journals on behalf of learned societies. They publish also thousands of scientific books each year. It is the largest university press in the world and the second oldest. It is a department of the University of Oxford and is governed by a group of 15 academics appointed by the vice-chancellor. OUP is located on Walton Street in the suburb Jericho.

  • Deal duration: 2019-2020
  • Status license: Current

 

License and conditions

  • The agreement for publishing in open access is put into action for 2019 and 2020 for around 322 hybrid journals of OUP. Society owned titles are not included in the deal.
  • Corresponding authors of all Dutch universities and UMC’s can make use of it, except authors from TU Delft and TU Eindhoven.
  • Corresponding authors must be affiliated to one of the Dutch universities.
  • Yearly, all participants together are allowed to publish a maximum of 760 articles.

 

How does it work?

Step1
Upon receipt of a manuscript into production at OUP, the corresponding author will receive a welcome email from the OUP Production team, inviting them to log into OUP’s online licensing and payment system, Author Services, to sign a license to publish and arrange payment for any associated publication charges.

Step 2
The corresponding author will log into Author Services via their Oxford Academic account using the unique link provided in the welcome email.

Step 3
The corresponding author will be presented with the available license options for the journal in which their article is due to publish. In order to request payment of the open access charge from the VSNU/Maastricht University fund, the corresponding author will need to sign an open access license and will be asked to confirm that they have read the Author Copyright Agreement and will pay any applicable charges. They will then be presented with the associated open access charge.

[Please note: although the author will be asked to confirm that they will pay the applicable charges to have their manuscript published under the open access model, they will not have to pay the open access charges themselves, provided a) they are eligible, b) there are sufficient funds available at that time.]

Step 4
The corresponding author should select ‘Dutch universities and academic hospitals’ from the dropdown list of institutions beneath ‘Open Access Prepayment Account’ on the Article Charges page, check the ‘Refer Charge?’ box next to the open access charge, and then click ‘Refer Charges’ at the bottom of the page.

[Please note: ancillary publication charges, i.e. page, colour, offprint, and single issue charges cannot be referred to the ‘Dutch universities and academic hospitals’ – the author will need to arrange payment for these charges via another method, i.e. credit/debit card or invoice.]

The corresponding author can then provide additional information, i.e. Original Research Funder, and Grant Number, before reviewing the charges to be referred and completing the referral. The corresponding author will be redirected to the Article Charges page, on which they can choose to cancel the referral or they can arrange payment of additional charges.

Step 5
The corresponding author will receive an email informing them that the open access charge has been successfully referred for review by the account holder [Maastricht University]. Once the account holder has reviewed the request, the corresponding author will receive an email informing them of the outcome. If the request is approved, the OA charge transaction is complete. If the request is rejected, the open access charge will be returned to the corresponding author for them to arrange payment via another method, i.e. credit/debit card, or invoice.

 

More information

  • Overview of OUP-journals via our OA Journal Browser
  • More information from OUP about this deal is available on the website of Oxford University Press.
  • Maastricht University researchers can contact a publishing specialist via the support desk at the bottom of the page
  • For general information with regards to Open Access publishing, you can contact our Scholarly Communications & Publishing Officer, Ron Aardening.
Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Friday 19 July 2019

3.11.Sage #

sage logo

Current agreement: 1 January 2020 – 31 December 2021

Publish open access without any costs (100% discount) in 900+ hybrid journals and with a 20% discount in the full open access journals

License and conditions

  • Corresponding authors must be affiliated to Maastricht University of MUMC and make use of their affiliation email address.
  • The agreement covers Original Papers, Review Papers, Brief Communications, Continuing Education, Case Reports, Letters to the editor and Invited Letters.
  • Valid for publications entered into SAGE’s production system during the term of this agreement. Open access discounts cannot be claimed after publication.
  • 100% discount on open access article processing charge for 875 SAGE Choice journals.
  • For the 160+ SAGE Pure Gold open access journals, a 20% reduction on open access publishing costs is automatically applied. The corresponding author takes care of the APC.

How does it work?

  1. Sage will recognize the corresponding author as a researcher of a Maastricht University or MUMC, based on email affiliation and selected institution. Authors should, therefore, use their institutional email address.
  2. Upon acceptance of the article for publication in a SAGE Choice journal, the corresponding author receives an email from SAGE with the request to complete a form and return it immediately. The article is made open access without cost if SAGE receives the form in a timely manner. The form asks for a code, but you do not have to fill it out. Make sure you are using your affiliation email address for verification. Articles cannot be made open access after publication.
  3. The 20% discount (VSNU agreement discount) for publication in SAGE’s Pure Gold Access Journal will automatically be applied to the author processing charge (APC) when the corresponding author is recognized as affiliated to Maastricht University or MUMC.

 

 

More info

 

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Wednesday 5 August 2020

3.12.Springer #

springer logo

Information for Maastricht University and MUMC+ researchers about Open Access publishing free of charge in Springer Nature journals

 

Maastricht University and MUMC+ corresponding authors can publish open access free of charge in more than 1.800 Springer Nature journals within the Springer OpenChoice programme.

 

License and conditions

  • Articles by corresponding authors from Dutch universities and the KNAW will be published in open access, at no cost to the author.
  • The agreement applies to some 1,850 journals within the Springer OpenChoice programme, with the exception of titles from learned societies, BioMedCentral and SpringerOpen.
  • There is a maximum of 2,080 items. If this number is reached Springer will terminate the agreement and items will no longer be eligible for open access.
  • Deal duration: 2018-2021

 

How does this work?

  • At article acceptance, you will be asked to confirm your affiliation by choosing it in the “Special Affiliation” drop-down menu and agree to the open access copyright and license terms.
  • The selected institute will verify your affiliation.
  • You don’t need to pay an article publishing charge (APC) to claim your Open Access licence.

 

More information

 

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 6 January 2020

3.13.Taylor & Francis #

Information for Maastricht University researchers about Open Access publishing free of charge in Taylor & Francis journals

 

As of 2016, Maastricht University and MUMC+ corresponding authors can publish open access free of charge in more than 2.300 Taylor & Francis and Routledge Open Select journals.

This is the result of a national deal between VSNU on behalf of all Dutch universities and Taylor & Francis.

 

License and conditions

  • The agreement is valid for original research papers submitted to about 2.300 Taylor & Francis and Routledge hybrid journals.
  • Corresponding authors connected to a Dutch university or University Medical Hospital will be able to publish open access free of charge in these journals.
  • Some articles which are not original research papers, such as Editorials, Announcements, and Book Reviews, are not covered by this OA publishing agreement.
  • Deal duration: 2018-2020

 

How does this work?

  • After the publisher has accepted the paper, he will invite the corresponding author to publish in open access.
  • Select the Creative Commons license of your choice.
  • You don’t need to pay an article publishing charge (APC) to claim your Open Access licence.

 

More information

 

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Wednesday 13 March 2019

3.14.Thieme 2016-2018 #

Thieme logo

Corresponding authors can benefit from a discount of 25% on the APC’s for around 50 Thieme journals. [PDF ]

Due to this discount, corresponding authors of Maastricht University do not pay € 2.500 but € 1.875.

More information on the Thieme website  .

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Monday 4 September 2017

3.15.Wiley - Open Access #

John-Wiley-and-Sons-logo

License data

  • This deal applies to 1,400 hybrid journals
  • Publisher: Wiley – John Wiley & Sons, Inc., also known as Wiley is a global academic publisher of books, journals and encyclopaedias.
  • Deal duration: 2016-2020
  • Status licence: Current

 

License and conditions

  • An agreement between Dutch universities and Wiley starts as of 4 March 2016 on open access publishing in 1400 hybrid journals . Corresponding authors of Dutch universities should indicate when their article has been accepted, that the article must be published in open access. This goes without extra charges for the authors.
  • Wiley also publishes 60 full open access journals; those are not covered in this agreement.
  • Corresponding authors (teaching/research staff and students employed/enrolled) of participating institutes can publish their articles (research and review articles) without any costs open access.

 

Workflow

  • Once your article is accepted, register or log-in to Wiley Author Services. On your Author Dashboard in Author Services, click ‘Order OnlineOpen’. If your request is approved, you will receive a confirmation mail.
  • Use the email address of Maastricht University or MUMC at any time when having contact with Wiley and during the submitting process. Wiley uses this address to detect if you are eligible for this deal. In doing so during the submitting process you will get the information you need to make the publication available in open access without additional costs.

 

More information

 

Yes No Suggest edit
Last updated on Tuesday 14 April 2020
Suggest Edit

Related products & services

 

Journal Browser

Journal Browser

Find out which journals offer open access publication and which arrangements (such as APC discounts) are in effect ... Open
Copyright Info Point

Copyright Information Point

The Maastricht University Library compiled the Copyright Information Point to inform and advice UM students, teachers and researchers about copyright issues ... Open
Library+ Researcher portal

Library+ Researcher portal

Library+ Researcher portal, start page for research support by the library ... Open

Related news & events

 

Narcis screen shot

A NARCIS milestone: more than 700,000 academic open access publications registered

The Dutch scholarly publications portal NARCIS now presents more than 700,000 open access publications by Dutch academics. Maastricht University counts for 15,228 open access publications ... Keep reading
Elsevier logo

Reading and publishing agreement with Elsevier extended until 2020

In late 2018, when the ‘current’ contract with Elsevier ended, VSNU and Elsevier agreed to continue the talks on a new contract while the existing agreements were maintained. Now the current contract will be extended for an additional six months to allow more time for the negotiations ... Keep reading
Henk van den Hoogen & Micah Vandegrift

Micah Vandegrift – a Fullbright in Maastricht

Micah Vandergrift visited Maastricht University Library as a Fulbright-Schuman innovation fellow and stayed with us for 5 months between October 2018 and February 2019. ... Keep reading
karger logo

Dutch universities and Karger renew open access agreement

Researchers of Maastricht University and Maastricht University Medical Centre can publish without any extra costs (APC) in more than 100 peer-reviewed Karger journals, both fully OA and hybrid ... Keep reading
Open Access publishing agreement with Oxford University Press started

Open Access publishing agreement with Oxford University Press started

Corresponding authors of Maastricht University and MUMC+ can now publish open access for free at Oxford University Press (OUP) ... Keep reading
w

Contact & Support

For questions or information, use the web form to contact an Open Access specialist.

 

Ask Your Librarian - Contact a library specialist
  • jpg, gif, xls, doc, pdf, png, xlsx, docx
  • Before submitting your question, please check whether your e-mail address is correct.

Pin It on Pinterest